To Sell Or Not To Sell?

With all the talk about it being a buyer’s market it seems the sellers are left wondering “what about me?”

After so many years of it being a seller’s market, now the tables have seemed to have turned and sellers are no longer are in control which leaves so many home owners scratching their heads asking “is this a good time to sell?”

I get sick to my stomach when I hear so many people out there telling sellers that now is not the time to sell their home. Sure, I wouldn’t just go sticking my house on the market just for the sake of doing it but if you have been in your home for several years and have been thinking of moving, have a great credit score, saved money for closing costs and a down payment, I couldn’t disagree more.

I feel like a broken record when I say that this is an amazing time for everyone. If everyone would just stop always looking for something to complain about what a wonderful world it would be! When it was a seller’s market, everyone was out there screaming about how home prices were ridiculous and buyers should not be out there buying and the real estate bubble would eventually have to burst. Come on people, is anyone ever happy?

Here is why the real estate market is just so amazing in my eyes right now. Mortgage rages are AT AN ALL TIME LOW, the supply of homes on the market right now is insane and best of all, wait for it, is that HOME PRICES HAVE GONE BACK TO WHAT THEY SHOULD BE and not what they should have never been in the first place.

So, if you put your home on the market and you hire an aggressive seller agent who will price your home realistically, you will sell your home. If your home is worth $300k then expect to get around $300k and nothing less. If you get an offer even close to what you are asking, take it because the next offer will be even lower. Believe it!

Ask yourself these questions before you put your home on the market:

are my bathrooms updated
is my kitchen updated
have I ever done anything to improve my home
if I were thinking of buying my own home, would I pay what I want someone else to pay
If you can HONESTELY answer yes, to those questions, then you can feel secure in knowing that your home will sell. If you can’t answer yes to those questions and you do not have to sell, it probably isn’t the best time to put your home on the market. Buyers are simply not going to want to over pay for your under-improved home!

So, your neighbor sold their underimproved home for some ridiculously high price and then in turn went and purchased someone else’s ridiculously over priced, probably unimproved home. Nobody won in that situation. At least now, you will sell your home for what it is worth and then you will buy another home that is either worth exactly what you are paying or you will get an even better deal because some Realtor over priced the seller’s home over 300 days ago so now can purchase it for UNDER market value and probably with a great mortgage rate. Their loss is your gain!

So, is it a good time to sell, I believe it is just as much as I believe that it is a good time to buy! Everyone wins!!

Can’t we all just get along?

Leave a Reply

